top of page

A Life Examined

“the duty of privilege is absolute integrity” John O'Donoghue

To be alive is, in itself, an amazing privilege. So at day's end, we might ask:

"What dreams did I create last night?

Where did my eyes linger today?

Where was I blind?

Where was I hurt without anyone noticing?

What did I learn today?

What did I read?

What new thoughts visited me?

What differences did I notice in those closest to me?

Whom did I neglect?

Where did I neglect myself?

What did I begin today that might endure?

How were my conversations?

What did I do today for the poor and excluded?

Did I remember the dead today?

Where could I have exposed myself to the risk of something different?

Where did I allow myself to receive love?

With whom did I feel most myself?

What reached me today? How deep did it imprint?

Who saw me today?

What visitations had I from the past and from the future?

What did I avoid today?

From the evidence - why was I given this day?"

John O'Donoghue "At the End of the Day: a Mirror of Questions" from: "To Bless the Space Between Us" 2008.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page