top of page

Life as an Open Question

Life is uncertain. In terms of our relationships, what will we encounter next: coming together, separation, loss, surprise? My father told me that the moment I was born he was overtaken by a mixture of amazement, hope, and trepidation. He wondered, What is to become of her? Today, my son is in his twenties, and I still feel wonder, excitement, and heartbreak as I watch him grow. How curious that love and uncertainty come together in this way! Life is so full, so touching, wondrous, sad, curious, and bittersweet, that it's almost unbearable at times. As human beings, we need to ask, over and over again, Do we have to turn away from this fullness? Can we enjoy the limitless realm of possibility? Can we live life as an open question?

Elizabeth Mattis Namgyal

Sound of Wings by Suezan Aikins

Sound of Wings by Suezan Aikins www.fogforestgallery.ca

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page